Happy New Year 2016, or 2015 that was

When I was fifteen, the year 2000 seemed like such a long way off, the kind of date I’d see in a science fiction or comic book that I’d read and enjoy. Heck, I remember writing something around that time for a silly high school assignment in which I predicted my rock band would be on it’s fifteenth world tour by 2015. At times, it still feels like 2016 should be in the “future.”

But alas, that time is now and we’d better be embracing it!

2015 was a good year for me. I still get to teach students how to write comic books at the university level, something I would not have even thought possible twenty years ago. Heck, many of my own writing professors in college have zero respect for comics. That’s changing—which is a good thing. And here’s the other thing about my class: to my knowledge, mine is the only comic writing class offered as part of a degree program at a university. Yes, you can “study” comics (often taught by “studiers” of comics and not by “makers” of) in quite a few universities and you can study sequential art…but none offer writing!

You can take writing classes from many excellent professionals at libraries, online, part of continuing education, etc., and while those are cool, they aren’t part of a degree program at a university.

So, yeah…I think it’s pretty cool.

I did quite a few comic shows in 2015 and had a blast at them (most of them). I’m lining up several again for 2016 and must say, I’m enjoying the convention circuit again. I’ll keep you all posted on those.

WordPress tells me my top posts for 2015 weren’t all necessarily written in 2015…which is kinda cool…I think. WordPress tells me it means that my writing has “staying power.”

They are:

1: The Origin of Hotty Toddy (October 26, 2011)

2: The Pros and Cons of Digital Comics (January 23, 2015)

3: Anatomy of a Yawn (Oct 29, 2008)

4: 25 (April 28, 2015)

5: Write a Love Letter to Your Artist(April 18, 2013)

I think it’s funny that the Hotty Toddy post still gets views. I also noticed that most of the views come during football season. The 2008 post surprises me most—it’s one that didn’t take a long time to write nor did I consider it that much. I originally wrote it as a column when I was a newspaper editor and was just looking for content for that demographic.

Thank you all for continuing to read my ramblings and I hope your 2016 is a great one!

 

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “Happy New Year 2016, or 2015 that was

  1. Enjoyed your ramblings. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

