I’m counting on all of you!

CitizensProfilePicFacebookIf all goes according to plan, next Tuesday I’ll do something I’ve never done: I’ll launch a Kickstarter campaign to raise the money to fund my new graphic novel, Citizens. In a word, yeah, I’m a little nervous about it, but I’m excited at the same time.

For those of you who don’t know about Kickstarter, it is one of the premier “crowd source funding” websites. (One of the other major sites is indiegogo, but I found there were more film projects there and more comic/graphic novel projects on Kickstarter) Kickstarter is an all-or-nothing deal. Which means, we either get all of the money we’re trying to raise…or we get none of it.

I say “we,” because Citizens is a collaborative effort with artist Joe Badon. Joe’s run several campaigns before and has been very supportive of all my nervous-nelly emails. He hasn’t come right out and said it, but I keep expecting him to tell me, “Chill, Roland. It’s all good!”

Some of you might be thinking: why do you need money? Just do it. It takes time to pencil, ink and color a graphic novel—and that’s what he’s doing. Which is really the lion’s share of the work. Yeah, yeah, writing it is hard work, too, but it takes me much less time to do it than it does those three jobs—and Joe is doing ALL THREE of them. He can’t just stop his life not get any money! How would he pay his bills? How would he eat? THINK OF THE CHILDREN!

cover to the CITIZENS graphic novel

Seriously, though, I wish I could tell you I was independently wealthy, but that’s just not the case. If it were, I’d just “hire” Joe and be done with it. But then I’d still have to PRINT it and SHIP it…and that costs money, too.

So basically Kickstarter acts a bit like a “pre-order” system. We’ll crank up the campaign and then you’ll decide which “level” to pledge: each level comes with a “reward,” the focus being you get a copy of the Citizens graphic novel. So yeah, you’re pledging money, but you’re also getting something for that money…and you’re helping me and Joe get it done.

So, it comes down to this: I’m going to be depending on YOU to help us make it happen. That means, yeah, I’d like you to consider pledging—as a writer, I’m really hoping you’ll enjoy the story—but I’m REALLY going to count on your telling YOUR pals via your social networks to go pledge. Tell them you know me and I’m a pretty swell guy (most of the times)…and that THEIR cool factor is upped if they support one of your friends!

It should happen Tuesday…so expect to hear from me again. 🙂

6 Comments

Filed under Projects

6 responses to “I’m counting on all of you!

  1. Karin

    Bestof luck, Ro-Dawg. I’ll be watching like a hawk (and contributing like a friend). I hope to do something similar. No pressure, but I’m planning to learn from your efforts. So, um, thanks!

  2. COOL! (and thanks in advance!)
    I’m thinking I may blog about the experience after the entire thing is done. I’ve read a lot of other blogs about ks campaigns, many of which were helpful to me, so maybe mine can be helpful to you and others.

  3. ztnoble

    Good luck, Roland! My son did this. It was very exciting. He raised over $10,000.00 on Kickstarter to self-publish a book. Scared the bejeebers out of me, but he did it. You can, too. Blessings!

    • Wow! That’s very cool, Zola. One of the hardest decisions was coming up with the amount. We didn’t want to ask for too much, but we knew we had to ask for enough to cover the costs (art, printing, shipping)…and just HOPE we can get extra. It’ll take help from YOU (and everyone else here), though!

  4. Bruce Costa

    Best of best wishes be upon you, bro.

Leave a Reply

