Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

MPHPCGraphicNovelCoverI can’t read any title that has “home for X children” in it and not think of Professor Xavier’s School for Gifted Children. I get these kind of schools/stories have been around before the X-Men, but I always think they’ve swiped the idea from the X-Men comics.

That said, when I saw the graphic novel, I was drawn to the slightly manga-influenced art…and the fact that it was something different. I didn’t realize until I had it home that it was an adaptation of a novel. Had I known that, I probably wouldn’t have bought it, because…

…the graphic novel was terrible. Avoid it.

Okay, the “photographs” of the peculiar children were very cool…but you can probably find those online somewhere (just guessing, I have no idea if they were photoshopped specifically for the novel or what).

I’ve since heard the novel itself—the one without the pictures—is pretty good. It may very well be, but that’s not what I’m talking about here. And, keep in mind I’m going into this without having read the novel.

The story starts off with Jacob remembering stories of monsters told him by his grandfather. Then he finds his grandfather has just been attacked by something…and he dies. But before his does, his grandfather says all sorts of confusing stuff. So Jacob just writes it off as the ramblings of a crazy old man.

Until he thinks he’s starting to see monsters.

MGkidsThen he goes to some island near England with his dad, finds a home stuck in a timeloop, in a day from WW2 in the 1940s that just keeps repeating. Oh. And he develops a crush on his grandfather’s old girlfriend. And then a bunch of confusing stuff happens and then…oh, guess what? It’s CONTINUED?

Seriously?

I spend $20 and 400 pages for a continued story?

I’ve GOT to do better research before buying stuff like this.

The art is not terrible, but the story is very hard to follow. We rarely know where we are—the transitions are terrible and confusing. One thing that helps is that the modern day scenes are in black and white while the 1940s scenes are in color. Seems a bit backwards to me, but whatever.

Eh. If you’ve felt inclined to read this story, spend your money on the novel and not the graphic novel. From what I’ve been told, you might actually understand the novel.

2 Comments

Filed under Books/reading

2 responses to “Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children

  1. The novel is a heck of a lot better than the graphic novel. I bought the graphic based on loving the actual novel. Yeah. I was upset. In fact I didn’t finish it. According to the author, the photos used in both are actual found photos from various antique stores and the likes.

Leave a Reply

