Eventually, everything breaks

An old friend of mine used to always tell me that computer hard drives have a 100% failure rate. I’m not sure if it was originally his or not, but he was fond of saying it whenever we talked about computers. Initially, I had a hard time wrapping my brain around that—“but I just bought this hard drive, how can you tell me that there is a 100% chance it will fail.”

To date, he’s been absolutely correct. For computers, I just move my information from the old one to the next and keep going.

But I’m finding that there are a lot of other things that possibly fall into that category, particularly anything that uses electricity.

I missed blogging last week because we loaded up a 26foot Uhaul and then spent 2 days driving 750 miles with it packed so tight I was sticking things in with a half-open (or was it half-closed?) door. Then I had to put it all directly into a storage because we still have no place to move to yet.

But the point is that BJ and I had this lamp that I’d wanted for some time before we actually got it. It was my favorite. Those of you more astute writers have picked up on the past tense. The lamp wasn’t fancy, nor was it really that expensive. When we got our sectional sofa (eighteen years ago), I wanted one of those cool lamps that spread out into five different pieces so it would light up every spot on the sofa—I could read anywhere I sat. So we got it—and I loved the lamp.

The sofa is now gone, too. We decided a few months back that after eighteen years, the sofa would not be making the trip to Florida with us.

The lamp DID, though.

After I put everything in storage…tired as all get out, I put the lamp in the back of my truck to take it to our tiny apartment (it’s a one room and VERY temporary) so that I could continue to use it.

When we pulled up at the apartment the kids grabbed armfuls of stuff and headed in because we were all tired. When I went to take the lamp out, I saw the base had a piece broken off. When I actually picked it up to take it out of the truck, the base just…crumbled. Crumbled into so many pieces. I didn’t realize it until it broke that it was a concrete block base wrapped in some thick plastic/rubber material.

There was nothing to do but toss the entire thing.

I guess that’s why the really “old” things go in museums.

8 Comments

Filed under Columns

8 responses to “Eventually, everything breaks

  1. Jerri Mann

    Sorry about the lamp. I like it too.

  2. Your lamp kind of reminds me of Rhett Butler’s monologue at the end of the book version of “Gone With the Wind.” He talks a lot longer in the book than in the movie, all about how he’s never been one to patiently glue broken things back together and tell himself that the mended whole is as good as new. Better to remember your lamp at its best I suppose.

    • LOL I suppose that’s a pretty good comparison. I learned, too, that the lamp actually “burned” the ceiling of our last place. You couldn’t notice it if the lamp was there–it just looked like shadows. But when we removed the lamp, the shadows stayed!

  3. I remember when I first learned that lesson (that everything breaks) I was so mad. I didn’t spend any money on anything for nearly a month.

  4. Dave

    As a really “Old Thing” I resent that! fb ms me your new snail mail address.

Leave a Reply

