Normalcy? What’s that?

Okay, so I’m still struggling to find some normalcy in my life as far as time goes…and while one of my more smart-aleck readers noted that if I have time to blog I have time to write, I view writing here as writing. That’s part of the problem—I’m not having much time for either! Ack! On the positive front, my new class (Writing for Comics and Animation) is in high gear and I’m enjoying the heck out of it. I mean, I’m getting to teach something I really enjoy! My ground class will begin in August and I’m a little apprehensive about it, but still anxious for it. I’ll miss my colleagues in the MFA program…but, not really because I haven’t moved my desk and none of them have changed seats so they’re all still in the same place and I get to see them just like I did before. Unless there’s been a decision of which I’m unaware, I’ll still be reading comic/graphic novel theses for the MFA program when possible.

We’ve still not sold the house in Oxford—so please; if any of you know of someone looking for a home to buy (or RENT at this point), please point them our way. Four bedrooms, wood burning fireplace, nearly three acres, good community. We’d love to just pick it up and bring it with us…but you know how that goes.

We’ve started looking in the areas around Full Sail and have seen some interesting homes. Nothing that really sang out to us and said: This is it! So we’re still looking—we want to make sure we get a place that will be in a good school district for Brett. Brittany has decided to go to Full Sail University—yep, where I teach. Yep, was a surprise for us, too. I think she likes the idea that FSU focuses on what the students want to do and doesn’t waste time with a lot of fluff classes. Man, I wish I could undo some of those ridiculous math classes I was forced to take in college. I can honestly say I haven’t used anything I learned (or didn’t) from the math classes. What a waste of time!

On the writing front, I hope to post about some of the comic projects I’m working on soon. For the most part…I’m waiting on the multi-talented artists to clear their schedules and get some stuff done. Ah…the life of a comic writer. I still can’t say anything about the secret project graphic novel I’m in the middle of writing, but as soon as I can, y’all will be the first to know! I’m also working on a short story for a project—well, I’d better not mention it yet, either, because I don’t know if they want me to yet.

And, if you haven’t picked it up yet, don’t forget I have a short story in the anthology Southern Haunts! Here are SouthernHauntslinks to various editions. If you get the print copy, I’m happy to sign it for you the next time I see you! 🙂

Print (softcover) and kindle editions:

http://www.amazon.com/Southern-Haunts-Spirits-That-Among/dp/1937929124

http://www.amazon.com/Southern-Haunts-Spirits-Among-ebook/dp/B00BWUXMX4

Nook edition:

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/southern-haunts-alexander-s-brown/1114845597?ean=2940016185934&itm=1&usri=southern+haunts

7 Comments

Filed under General

7 responses to “Normalcy? What’s that?

  1. Chris

    Totally agree with you about the unused college classes. I do payroll, light accounting, taxes, etc. – and am currently back in school. I’m avoiding algebra until I have no other choices, because I honestly don’t understand it, and don’t feel that it’s necessary for Liberal Arts.

  2. I can definitely relate on the fluff classes. Brittany has made a great choice to go to FullSail. I’m sorry that you aren’t able to get rid of your house in Oxford, I hope that you will be able to soon. I love the cover for your book! It’s so dope! As far as my writing, I’m in the middle of looking for an agent for my novel and screenplays. Hard work! I’ve submitted to one and am having a tough time to find more to send to. I don’t know, I’m just leery of sending pieces of my work to people that I don’t know. I have to get a good vibe of the person, I guess. Any whoo, if you have any pointers, please don’t hesitate to shoot them my way! Oh…I’ve been applying for writing jobs like i’m crazy! It’s well over 80 of them…insane..I know lol. I just hope that someone gets back to me soon. Good luck on the new class, I know that you will do well.

    • Thanks for the kind words about the cover. I’m happy to give credit to Emily Y. Kanalz for the design of it. I’m also very happy with it. As for pointers–don’t over worry about sending your script–just send it! You can’t live your writing life afraid someone will steal your idea…your ONE idea…when you have hundreds more!

    • Krystol! So happy to see you here! Thanks so much for reading my blog. Hopefully I’ll be a little more regular in the coming months! And while I wish I could take credit for the cover of SOUTHERN HAUNTS, I can’t. I only have a short story in it–but if you read it, would love to hear your take on the story! I DO have my own work out, but SOUTHERN HAUNTS is an anthology with a handful of writers. Finding an agent is a tough road to travel–but be persistent! It’ll happen.

  3. They say that math helps us with logic. As a word person who was always intimidated by higher math, I was relieved to not have to take many classes. Hated word problems! Not sure what that says about my reasoning ability, but I’ve never been called dumb. However, I think there’s something about being exposed to difficult things, subjects that challenge us that contributes to our character and makes us more well-rounded individuals if we’ll persevere. Whatever she finds at FSU, I hope your daughter loves her classes and excels. I will say prayers for a good buyer/renter for your house and for great success in your new surroundings and your writing!

    • Thanks for the prayers! They were answered: God sent us a good family of renters! I hear what you’re saying about the math…but there’s a difference–I think–between the basic (or even a bit advanced) math and the algebra I had to learn. I don’t use algebra–haven’t since I got out of that class. I DO use the math–like you mention. A lot of folks would have us do away with history…but I’m not convinced THAT is a good idea, either.

Leave a Reply

