You are the one

You

Are the one who reacted to the sound of my voice when you were pressing on your mommy’s ribs.

You

Are the one we worried about because you were born five weeks too early.

You

Are the one I called “squeaky” when we brought you home…because you just didn’t cry.

You

Are the one who we “cooked” in the sun the first two weeks you were alive because the doctors told us to.

You

Are the one who couldn’t say grandma and grandpa…and so you have a Magoo and Paco.

You

Are the one who told me when I skipped a word in a book that I read to you at night.

You

Are the one the doctors told us had scarlet fever and we could only think of all the old films where people died because of it.

You

Are the one who celebrated her seventh birthday on the battlefield at Shiloh and loved it (except for the cold feet) despite your mommy’s trepidation.

You

Are the one who has a musical heart—and always will, in more ways than one. Don’t let it worry you—sing for joy at its tune!

You

Are the one who thought we had bears in the trees behind our house…and I pretended I saw them…often.

You

Are the one who lost a front tooth because you ran face first into a classmate…a boy.

You

Are the one who played baseball with the boys for two years because there were no girls teams…and you were the starting shortstop.

You

Are truly my daughter: the only one in your class to have read The Constitution by fifth grade and to not just know that Lincoln freed no slaves, but why he didn’t.

You

Are truly my daughter: you’ve read more cool books and comic books than most of your friends…and you’re proud of your “geek” badge!

You

Are the one who asked me questions about things you heard at school…things that made me turn razorback red…but that I always answered, even if I had to think about the answer for a day.

You

Are the one who still loves me despite my parental errors.

You

Are the one whose boldness in your faith inspires me…and continues to inspire me. Don’t lose that confidence!

You

Are the one with whom I’m still close, despite so many of my female friends telling me that would end at 16.

You

Are the one graduating with honors.

You

Are the one of whom I am incredibly proud for so many reasons. I hope you at least know some of them.

You

Are my Mo.

You

Are my baby-doll.

You

are my daughter.

You

Are the one that I love…

…this’a much and more!

13 Comments

Filed under family, Kids

13 responses to “You are the one

  1. Aunt Judy

    This is great Roland. So many memories for you and Brittany to share. Can’t believe how fast she has grown. I am very proud of her and all that she has accomplished. Great job “Dad”.

  2. Beautiful! Didn’t know that in addition to being a writer, (and a good one) you are also a poet! And a good one! Congratulations on Brittany’s graduation with honors.

  3. Dani Davis

    What a beautiful tribute to your daughter. Congratulations to her on her graduation, and to you for having such a wonderful daughter.

  4. Beautiful young woman and beautiful tribute!

  5. Ken Renshaw

    Congratulation, Brittany! From your old piano teacher!

  6. Jerri Mann

    This was beautiful, Roland. I remember them and can’t believe it has passed so fast and she is a high school graduate. Y’all have down a great job and proud of all of you.

  7. I agree with Freeda – good subject, good viewpoint and good poem. Congratulations to all of you.

Leave a Reply

