Happy New Year! Looking forward to 2013

Happy 2013 to everyone who visits here. 2013! Wow. Every now and again, I still get the weird feeling when talking about the 2000s; I mean, in the 1980s we were thinking 2000-anything was the far off future with flying cars, jetpacks and Jetsons style tv-phones. We’ve got the cool tv-phones, but that’s about it. Still, it feels odd to look at the date sometimes.

But 2013 is shaping up to be another busy year, especially while we’re still trying to sell the house (prayers appreciated to help get the thing sold!). The first part of the year will see me shepherding the first ever Full Sail Comic Anthology. It will feature 5 stories by Full Sail students. The goal is to get it out for a grand release at MegaCon…of which I’m also a guest (don’t have my list of panels yet, or I’d let you know). Brittany has two auditions in March for the music departments at Belmont and UNA and she’s getting excited about those.

March will also see me at the Hot Springs Village Writers Conference, a small Writers Conference in Hot Springs, Arkansas. As soon as I get a flyer or website from them, I’ll post it.

I’m also excited to report that it looks like I’m going to have some decent movement on four—yes, 4! Comic projects this year! I’ll be posting a little more about each in the coming weeks (including some art), but a highlight would be as such: Tim Holtrop has just started character sketches/designs for BEAH (now planned as a graphic novel). Tim seems to be excited about it, so his excitement has me all antsy again.

CITIZENS is a project that I started in the late 90s, even had a bunch of pages done before the artist decided he didn’t want to finish it…I recently dusted it off and heavily revised it when I met Joe Badon through a Christian Comic Creator group on Facebook. It’s morphed from a heavily sci-fi into a steampunk story and I like the way it’s going…I’m hoping to see pages from Joe fairly soon and will give sneak peeks here.

Sand Gears is another of story that started in the late 90s and had a few pages penciled and inked by an artist. It is also heavily revised and has more art than any of the projects listed here. Quinton Bedwell is doing the art and there would be more done, likely, if he hadn’t been waiting on me. I’ll tell that story later, but Sand Gears is probably the first project I talk about here in a few weeks.

JC Grande, whose name I’ve seen popping up on several projects lately—and which is a good thing for our project—has done some character designs and is working on the first few pages for The Rejects, a story about a group of misfit superheroes.

Henry Martinez, an artist I worked with as editor back in my Maliby days, has agreed to do some work on a project that I’m pretty excited about…but he’s been very busy so I won’t call out any project names at this time, but will put his name here to help possibly motivate him. 😉

I hinted on Facebook about a steampunk project with legendary artist Jerry Bingham and there’s been no taker on the project yet—but it’s been pitched around to some comic publishers. It’s been seen by a select few and the responses are good, but the right publisher just hasn’t seen it yet. Attached to this blog you’ll see a promotional piece done by Jerry and superbly colored by Emily Kanalz.

Last August I wrote a pitch at the request of a publisher for what could be a very high profile project not just for me but for the publisher. The more time passes the more I suspect the final answer to be no…however, I’ve not heard a final no from the publisher, so I hold out that it may still happen. When it does, you’ll be among the first to know.

Lastly, please enjoy the annual Mann Family Christmas/New Year Greeting: https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B5xOrrK1R8tbMHMwQUJTY1ZVZzg I hope 2013 is great to you!

9 Comments

Filed under Projects, Videos, writing

9 responses to “Happy New Year! Looking forward to 2013

  1. Anne Winchester

    Congrats on all the great projects, Cuz! 🙂

  2. Wow! Sounds like you’re going to have a busy and productive year. Best wishes!

  3. ant'ny

    BEAH? Finally?

    Woooo-hooo!

    Happy New Year! It’s been too long since I’ve gotten to read any new comics by you!

  4. Wait…. you didn’t get a jetpack when they were handing them out at the Y2K rollover?

Leave a Reply

