NaNoWriMo and my burfday!

Most of you in the writing world have heard of NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month. For those of you who haven’t, it’s a month long stab at writing a novel, or at least 50,000 words of it.

NaNoWriMo started in 1999, but I didn’t hear about it until middle 2000s. It’s gained in strength and popularity each year since it began and I’ve thought about doing it nearly every year since I heard about it. You see, the idea isn’t that you complete a 50,000 word draft of the next best thing, ready to be published right then and there. The idea is that you get the words on the page so that you’ll have something to work with, to revise.

It’s a great idea for those who like to call themselves “writer” but do no actual writing (I’ve known quite a few of those people in my day!), or for those who write, but have problems with the “solo” aspect of it and need the deadlines and the encouragement. And by that I mean the idea seems particularly geared to those sorts.

It wasn’t until last week that I realized the “rules” for NaNoWriMo are actually quite flexible: you can have your work “plotted” out as long as you haven’t actually written any of the actual text. Of course, there is no real way to adjudicate that…and there are no “prizes” for those who are successful except the feeling of success and accomplishment.

As I said, though, the thought of being pushed through an entire month (though why they chose November, with THANKSGIVING stuck there at the end confounds me) and watching the word counts of your writing pals rise…has been intriguing.

And so after my fellow Spalding alum and writing pal Kat Shehata tossed out the gauntlet…eh, I picked it up…and so I’m giving it a try this year. In fact, I should probably be writing on it now instead of writing this. If you’re participating, my username is rolandmann. Send me a buddy request and I’ll cheer you on as well.

And oh. It’s my birthday. Those of you on Facebook saw that my wife hacked my account! I’m hoping to be able to get back on soon!

10 Comments

Filed under General

10 responses to “NaNoWriMo and my burfday!

  1. I agree that November isn’t the best time for NaNoWriMo, but I’m also giving it a stab. For me, I know that I’ll get my book done sooner or later. This is just a nice stab in the butt to get me going! Happy writing, Brolandmann!

    • I’m not doing so well on the NaNoWriMo…it keeps taking a back seat to the other projects I’m working on…and that was my fear signing up. I’m not tossing in the towel…but it’s not looking good. 😦

  2. Dorothy Johnson

    Don’t think I’m ready for the challenge this year, but the concept is great. I am working on a novel but it’s already in progress and I don’t want to get distracted! Happy Belated Birthday!

  3. patlaster

    Happy burfday, bro! er Ro… I saw it on one of my daily haiku collections, but forgot to write. Dorothy Johnson and I are among 5 writers at Dairy Hollow this week. What do YOU do when the time passes faster than usual?? I’ve been here a week and it seems like 3 days! Good luck on your NaNoWriMo project.

    • Thank ya very much for the wishes. I saw that you and Dorothy were there and am anxious to hear how it went. I’ve often thought I’d love a writer’s retreat like that. Time seems to ALWAYS pass faster than it should…my reaction is that I seem to get less and less sleep…my FEAR is that it will catch up to me sooner or later…

  4. Happy Continuation Day, southern brother!

  5. ant'ny

    Happy Belated Birthday!
    ant’ny

Leave a Reply

