Some upcoming fun!

So I promised this a couple of weeks ago and I’m delivering so that I’ll be good on my word. Most of you know that I try to keep myself busy attending comiccons and writers conferences (as speaker and sometimes attendee) and this year is shaping up nicely. I mentioned MidSouthCon in Memphis last week, and I had a great time. If you missed it, you missed a fun time.

A fun thing I’ll be doing this coming weekend is reenacting at the 150th Anniversary of the battle of Shiloh. Brett will be going with me and it will be his first “major” reenactment (by major, I mean there are over 5000 reenactors signed up, and about 117 canons will be booming!). If you have an interest in this period of our history, I urge you to come out and watch. It’s incredible to see an event this big—you’ll feel like you’ve time traveled. If you come out and look for me, I’ll be wearing grey on Saturday and blue on Sunday.

Then on April 19-21, I’ll be mentoring and leading the 2nd annual Spring Hemingway Writers Retreat at the Hemingway-Pfeiffer Museum and Education Center in Piggott, Arkansas, where Hemingway briefly made his home. This is a great way for writers to escape for a bit and focus on writing. Not laundry, writing!

On May 24-26, I’m going to return to my alma mater Spalding University in Louisville, Kentucky to participate in a panel on author promotion on that Thursday, and then what’s called the SP Love Fest on Friday. The LoveFest is a showcase of the creative works of Spalding students and alum. This is the second time for the event, but the first time I’ve been able to participate.

In July, I’ll be one of the faculty members at Karitos, a Christian Media Arts Conference at Wheaton Academy in West Chicago. I’ve never been there before, but an old college buddy of mine, Justice Carmon, is also part of the faculty and I’m very excited to be a part of it this year.

In August, I’ll return to the Gideon Media Arts Festival in Ridgecrest, North Carolina. I’ll be part of the faculty in the…actually, I’m not sure what the section is called now. It was Graphic Arts last year, but it’s been slightly reorganized and retitled to accommodate the growth of the conference. Hopefully one of the organizers will read this and correct me and help me out. I had a blast there last year and met many talented folks.

Whew! But I’m looking forward to all of them! Hope to see some of you at some of them! Come say hi!

MidSouthCon report next time.

5 Comments

Filed under General

5 responses to “Some upcoming fun!

  1. I’d love to attend the reenactment at the 150th Anniversary of the Battle of Shiloh. Sounds exciting! I won’t be in Piggott for the Spring Writers’ Retreat but I plan to be there for the June session. My books will be available in two or three more weeks. I’m happy about that!

  2. Bruce Costa

    A very memorable event: the 135th anniversary Battle of Gettysburg, specifically watching Pickett’s Charge. Brutal. I love your bipartisan approach to Shiloh!

  3. When do you have time to write?

  4. No wonder we don’t see you at our writers group meetings anymore! Glad you’re staying busy. We love the Shiloh event but won’t be able to make it this year. And you really need to decide which side you’re on.

Leave a Reply

