I’m just “Dad”

I know that all the “rules” out there say you shouldn’t blog about your family and personal stuff and all that, but, y’all who know me know that I sometimes have problems with rules (not all of them, just the dumb ones—not saying that’s a dumb rule. Well, nevermind. Just read on!). So, I’m going to blog about my daughter. Those who’ve been around a while have seen me post videos of her singing and bragging about her and such anyway, so talking about her now won’t really make a difference. And I’m sure I’ll continue to do that, but that is not what this blog is about.

Brittany recently turned sixteen. I thought the biggest thing around this event would be that she got her driver’s license and would get a job. Oh, she did get her license and there are already many miles on our vehicles. I watch these miles (and change the oil) and wonder, “is Oxford really that big? I mean, it’d have to be to churn up all those miles.”

And she got a job, too. After a couple of false starts (neither of them her fault, thankfully), she landed a job with Chik Fil-A. BJ and I had been telling her for a couple of years that she would actually enjoy working—yes, I’m a mean father; I made her get a job. I’ll tell you what I’ve found myself telling my Dad a time or two (although mostly as a joke because it is what he told his mother): you raised yours the way you wanted, I’m raising mine the way I want.

But little did I realize that her becoming a middle-teen would lead to a sudden acquisition of knowledge to make her incredibly brilliant! It’s true. She’s suddenly so incredibly wise in the ways of the world… so much so that I don’t know nothing…and I often fail to realize how brilliant she is.

Let me give you an example. Brittany has a cellphone. As of this writing, I only recently acquired my first one—no you can’t have my number! I didn’t really want one, but because of my recent traveling excursions, it was forced upon me! I still don’t really want one! But not long ago, Brittany got a different phone and was having problems setting the date and time as she transferred all her info to the new phone. I asked her if she wanted me to give it a try. Her response? Since I didn’t own a cellphone, I obviously didn’t have any clue about them and couldn’t figure it out. Obviously. She passed it to me anyway (with a roll of the eyes) and I fixed the date and time in a few minutes flat. Was she impressed? Not so much. Because she’s brilliant and I? I am just Dad!

Let me give you another example. That job that I forced her to get? Guess what? Yep, she actually enjoys it. You think she’ll admit it to Dad? Nope. Because she is near-omniscient now, and me? I’m just Dad.

I’m sure my son will be just as brilliant in a matter of years, but he has five more years before he turns sixteen. Thankfully I’ll still be “smart” around him a little longer.

6 Comments

Filed under General

6 responses to “I’m just “Dad”

  1. ant'ny

    “When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished by how much he’d learned in seven years.”
    –Mark Twain

    Thanks for sharing, Roland! =)

  2. Thought I’d be the first to make sure the iconic quote got in: “When I was a boy of fourteen, my father was so ignorant I could hardly stand to have the old man around. But when I got to be twenty-one, I was astonished by how much he’d learned in seven years.”

  3. Peggy Johnson

    Ditto.

  4. Jerri Mann

    How smart does that make me now son,

    dad

  5. Passed this on to a friend who is going through the same thing. Only he’s not as philosophcal about it as you are, so I thought it would benefit him to know that it isn’t just HIM, of HER, and that it’s just the way the world is.

    After all, I was smarter than MY dad when I was 16, too!

  6. My, My. Proofreading at its best. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

