Renaming professional sports teams

While Northwest Rankin High School—from whence I graduated—was being built, I was among a lucky select number of high school students who were picked to help determine the high school colors and mascot for the future school. So much time has passed that I honestly don’t remember how influential my fellow students (of whom I can only remember three. There may have been more, but I only remember the three…possibly because they are female) and I were. I do remember we did not want to be anything similar to Pearl or Brandon (the schools from which most of the students for NWR would be drawn) and we didn’t want to be like Ole Miss or MSU. Those in the area know, of course, that we went with a Cougar and with Southern Miss colors.

All that is said to say I think it would be more interesting if professional athletic teams were to choose their mascots reflective of town history or even town (regional) personality. I realize there is a tiny instance of that now, but barely so much as to be noticeable. Therefore, I’d like to propose the following new names to be more representative of the communities they serve.

Boston WitchBurners

Atlanta Smokestacks (you non-history folks ask someone interested in history why this one makes sense)

NY Hurryups

NY Stuckups (they DO have two teams, y’know)

Minnesota Cheeseheads

Miami Crackheads

San Francisco Fruits & Nuts (okay, so 49ers worked, but not so much anymore)

Tennessee Hillbillies (Banjo-pickers is a close second)

Dallas Guntoters

New Orleans Crocodile Eaters (though “hunters” came in a close second)

Chicago Rumrunners (Mafia comes a close second)

LA Smogs

Houston Oilers (yeah—see, that one once made sense)

St. Louis Flood

Washington Liars (keep in mind this is DC, not the state!)

I could keep going, but I think it might be more interesting for any and all additional thoughts and suggestions to the list. No, I don’t expect anyone with enough clout to pay attention to this list, but it is fun putting together.

I’m sure I’ll have something more serious to say next week.

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “Renaming professional sports teams

  1. Why do I get the feeling that this is funny to us, but not to the particular townspeople?? 🙂

  2. dave

    Roland: I thought that was interesting, but as a Chicago (Bears, Bulls, Cubs) fan I need to suggest a little fine tuning. “Rum runners worked off the east coast bringing rum from Jamaica and Puerto Rica. The Chicago Mob sold bath tub gin, and Canadian Whiskey “run” down the Great Lakes. Whiskey Runners not Rum runners, also The term Mafia is usually reserved for organizations run by Sicilians. The Chicago mob was run by Neapolitans (Al Capone, Sam Giancana) and usually referred to as “The Outfit” or even Cosa Nostra, but rarely (and never by Chicagoans) as Mafia. Those of us born in or near Chicago often look around nervously and just refer to “Our Friends on the West Side.” lol

Leave a Reply

