Faith is more than just believing

I’m going to wax poetic about faith, Christians and Christianity in this blog…so if those things bother you, just come back next time, maybe I’ll write something to interest you then.

One of the things I’ve come to believe about faith is that it is more than just believing; it is an acting on belief in something many think un-provable. You may wonder what’s happened to cause this thought process. I’m glad you asked.

Having spent most of my life claiming to be a “Christian” only later realizing that I was just talking out of the side of my mouth, it has really started to bother me seeing so many people making the same claim I did for so long. Sounds hypocritical? Well, I’m not condemning those people, I’m just saying I think we’ve got a problem…and it may be that the traditional “what we have here is a failure to communicate” is, in fact, so true.

Before going on, let me demonstrate. I’m a black man. Can’t you tell that by my picture above? “What?” you say? “You’re so white you’re Swedish!” Yeah, that’s exactly what I’m trying to say. People may say they’re a Christian with their mouth, but when you look at them, you can clearly see it is not true! Meaning, there is nothing in their life to demonstrate they are a follower of Christ, which is what the term “Christian” means.

Let me put it like this: I have always “believed” in God, but I haven’t always acted upon that belief. I believed that He existed, but I never really made an effort to learn about what that belief meant. It wasn’t too terribly long ago when I realized the cliché “even Satan believes in God” was an incredibly profound statement. If we accept simple belief in God as the key to being a Christian, then it would be hard to deny that Satan is also a Christian because he obviously “believes” in God, right? I mean, if they are both real—as I believe they are—then that truth means they “believe” in the existence of the other. And since I don’t think anyone reading this is willing to accept that Satan is a “Christian,” it has to be something more than just belief, right?

IF that is the case, then what is it? Well, as Christians, we’re always looking at, pointing to and asking what would Jesus do, and so on and so forth. So I think that’s where we have to look, right? (A lot of this line of thinking, I feel, was brought on by my reading of CS Lewis’s Mere Christianity—wow! Great read!)

So, the main thing Jesus told his disciples was…follow me. I mean there are a lot of things he also said and probably people a lot smarter than me could list them all off in quick succession. But this goes back to my original thought: “faith” is more than just believing. If we claim to have faith, then the world needs to see us act on that faith, else it’s just words.

Words are powerful—I’m the first one to believe that! But action speaks louder than words.

Just sayin’.

7 Comments

Filed under General

7 responses to “Faith is more than just believing

  1. Forrest

    You said it! Sometimes I need that reminder

  2. Anon Y Mous

    the young evangelist knocked on the woman’s door
    stirring her up from her household labors
    politely he inquired if she were a Christian
    politely she replied, “You’d have to ask my neighbors.”

  3. Dave Cullison

    There is another saying that can be dismissed as an “old cliche” that poses a real challenge to me. “If I were arrested for being a Christian, would there be enough evidence for a conviction.” Thanks for bringing up a topic that is always important, and so fitting in the season when we prepare to celebrate the birth of our Savior (Advent).

  4. Freeda Baker Nichols

    Thanks for this post! Very refreshing to read this. I’d just like to say, “Keep the faith!”

  5. Isn’t it amazing how profoundly simple God’s message is?

    “Footsteps of Jesus that make the pathway glow,
    I will follow the steps of Jesus, where e’er they go”

    The chorus to that old Baptist hymn came to mind after reading your post. I am thankful for the friends I make when I do just that!

  6. Great post, Roland. You couldn’t have laid it out more clearly.

  7. Wow! Reminds me of a great quote that I read the other day: Don’t say things. What you are stands over you the while, and thunders so that I cannot hear what you say to the contrary.
    – Ralph Waldo Emerson, “Social Aims”, 1876

    In other words, “I can’t hear what you’re saying because your actions are speaking too loud.”

Leave a Reply

