So much for free speech in America

So, I’m not really a country music fan. Never have been. I don’t hate it or anything, just not a fan. Thus, I’m not really a fan of Hank Williams, Jr. Yeah, I know he’s got a bunch of rowdy friends over every Monday night and they have a great time…but I’m just not one of them. Don’t take this to mean that I dislike the guy…I just don’t like country music.

I think, however, it’s a crock all the flack he recently took about voicing his opinion. What? You haven’t heard? I thought I was the only one who didn’t watch all the network news! Appearing on some Fox show, he answered some political questions with his opinion…his own opinion. The one that belongs to him. The one that is supposed to be guaranteed under the U.S. Constitution. He made some sort of off-handed comparison of Obama and Hitler. It was his opinion, not that of Fox (at least, they didn’t confirm his opinion then). Right or wrong, dumb or not, he’s living in the United States and should be afforded that right as we all should be.

I mean, look, the guy is a media star. Many, many media stars have said some of the nastiest things about former President George Bush. Right or wrong, dumb or not, they are living in the United States and should be afforded the right to be right or wrong…or dumb. I never heard about any of them losing jobs or being pulled from assignments because they said nasty things about Bush. Why then does the Left clamor for Junior’s head? Why does corporate ESPN get involved and threaten (did they do it? I dunno, I don’t watch Monday Night Football…ever) to yank his catchy little ditty? Entities like this should stay out of the political arena and leave all the clamoring to the fans/individuals. You don’t like his opinion, stop buying his music. I say the same thing about the leftist stars as well, even if they do irritate me. In fact, there are two leftist movie stars who, after voicing their hatred of Bush, I’ve not paid a single dime to support their movies. Has it hurt them? Not likely, but I’m not their accountant.

Companies should stay out of politics…though I’m probably straying onto the topic of another blog, huh?

Bottom line is, I’m afraid we are slowly losing our right to voice our opinion, especially when it goes against the leftist power elite. They preach tolerance, but the truth is they are only tolerant to voices that agree with theirs. Those that disagree should be silenced. I don’t mean it in a kill-them way, but in a literal don’t allow them to speak way. A former high school classmate of mine recently posted on facebook that Rick Perry was so obnoxious to her that she didn’t think he should allowed to even run for President.

Really?

Not even allowed to run? Why not just vote against him?

The problem is he might win (no, this isn’t an endorsement for Perry, just sayin’). And that is something she is not willing to allow. Thankfully for all of us, it isn’t up to her!

Free speech, hate-filled or otherwise, smart or dumb, should remain an American right!

9 Comments

Filed under General

9 responses to “So much for free speech in America

  1. Freeda Baker Nichols

    Thanks for posting. I agree with you. I didn’t see this in the news.

  2. Thanks for starting this conversation, Roland. It’s one of my ‘soapboxes’ too. Remember when the beauty queen was asked how SHE felt about gay marriage, and then was lambasted for voicing HER opinion? I thought the same thing then. There are countless stories on the web about celibrities people being condemned for voicing their PERSONAL feelings and losing contracts over them – I won’t list them but call me some time…

    In line with this is all this ‘political correct”-ness – I’ve always felt that, as HUMAN beings, we WILL have issues…nobody likes everybody. That’s the way it is. Deal with it and get over it. You might think somebody is really dumb, but you know what ? Somebody else probably feels the same way about you. That’s what makes us HUMAN. Should I bepunished for not having the same opinion as you? Should I lose my JOB over it?

    We ARE losing our freedoms, slowly but surely, and a lot of it has nothing to do with AlQeda (sp?), but with our illogical idea that we should control everybody else. Aldous Huxley, move over. Okay – I’ll shut up now. 🙂

  3. Oops, didn’t spell-check! I found two. How many did you find?

  4. Roland: Just a few observations:
    Actually, HW Jr. said something like “Obama golfing with Boehner is like Hitler playing with Netanyahu.” I think that was an analogy. He didn’t call Obama Hitler and he didn’t call Boehner Netanyahu.
    HW is crying all the way to the bank, since he’s had 100,000 iTune downloads of his newest song this week. Would he have had such a success without all the hype? One would doubt it.
    Have you heard of Natalie Maines? Lead singer of the Dixie Chicks? She made a stupid (she admitted) slam at George W. Bush and for that she was boycotted on C&W radio stations and received death threats. The incident stunted the group’s career. That was not the ‘leftist media’ that did that.
    The national media loves controversy regardless of left or right. It just seems ‘left’ or ‘right’ to us depending on how we feel about the person currently under attack.

  5. Peggy Johnson

    One of your best blogs. No, HW,Jr. said on The View that his comment was an analogy. He said he wasn’t calling Obama, Hitler. But he didn’t seem unhappy that he won’t be on Monday night football anymore. He made it sound that it was his decision to part business arrangements. He doesn’t regret his analogy…………PJ

  6. ant'ny

    If HW2 had been jailed or fined I’d say that it was a “free speech” issue. The simple truth is that employers can and will decide all the time if they want to keep an employee or not. When Tiger Woods lost all his sponsorships after his scandal, I don’t recall anyone complaining. His sponsors decided that Woods did not represent the image they wanted to convey to their customers and ESPN did the same thing with Mr. Williams. While I agree that it seems a knee-jerk reaction on ESPN’s part (and, as much as I re-read HW’s actual words, I can’t see where he ever refers to the President as Hitler), they’re well within their legal rights to do what they did (and perhaps more so, depending on the terms of the contract with Hank Williams, Jr.). I disagree with ESPN’s decision, but I firmly believe it was their decision to make.
    ant’ny

  7. Dot – I thought about the incident with the Dixie Chicks, too, but couldn’t remember many details. Glad you pitched it! And, yes, the point about Tiger is well taken, too. However, Tiger’s contracts all are geared toward his public ‘face’ – whereas, most of our jobs aren’t. When we got hired, did we get vetted about our political , sexual, or other ‘persuasions’? Where does it stop?

Leave a Reply

