Nashville this week, Southern Expressions in October

I’m excited about this week…and about a week still several months away. This week will be my first ever signing/appearance in the Nashville, Tenn., area. I know, can you believe it? All these years so close and I’ve never been there for an appearance, not once.

So, if you’re in the Nashville area, I’d love for you to come out and see me: it’s FREE! On Wednesday (March 23), from 4:30 until 5:30, I will be at the Madison Branch of the Nashville Public Library and will be talking about how to have a Career in comics. I’ve created “event notices” on both Facebook and Goodreads. Click the links and tell me you’ll be there! Then, on Thursday (March 24, of course), at the Goodlettsville branch, I’ll lead a limited space workshop for teens from 4:30 until 6, then will give a general public talk Creating a Comic Book from Idea to Publication. Most folks don’t know, thinking the “comic art fairies” show up at night and do the work—kinda like the elves did for that shoemaker dude. Again, click the links: Facebook, Goodreads. If you’ve got questions about anything, contact the library there in Nashville. ßlink is right there. Also, if you visit the link, you’ll see that my sessions are the #3 ad in the rolling ads. My public thanks to Jennifer Hunsicker who worked hard to make this happen. Yes, of course, pictures to follow.

Also, I’ll be signing comics at Rick’s City Comics from 12-2 on Thursday. Dig into those collections and bring your copies out for me to sign. Rick is even digging around to see what he’s got in the backstock!

While in Nashville, I’m hoping to catch up with artist Sam Payne, a talented guy who did some work for me when I was editor at Malibu. I’d give you a link to his site, or some of his work, but Sam is horribly absent from the web, something I’ve been on him to correct—I mean, folks need to be able to see his art! I’ve been trying to twist Sam’s arm to work on a project with me—and yes, I’m hoping putting it out here in public like this will help convince him it’s the thing to do! I’ll stop short of giving you his email address and telling you to bomb his email with messages of “do the project with Roland!”

But I’ll keep that thought in the back of my head.

I was made aware, too, of something pretty cool. You all have heard me talk about Imagicopter before. Well, one of the many authors I’ve met through Imagicopter is Glen Stripling. I was just made aware that he said some pretty nice things about Buying Time on his own website. Go check it out—and check out his work while you’re at it.

My other big news is that I’ve been invited to be a speaker at the Southern Expressions Authors Conference 2011 to be held in Ocean Springs, Mississippi, this coming October. I must say, I’m very excited about this and it looks to be a very cool conference. I want to encourage writers in the area to mark it on your calendars and plan to come.

I’ll be coaching Brett in baseball again this year…we start practices this week! Looks to be a fast and fun summer!

3 Comments

Filed under writing

3 responses to “Nashville this week, Southern Expressions in October

  1. pat laster

    Don’t forget in all your travels, you have a “date” in Piggott AR with some writers in April. I went to Stripling’s website. Wow!

    • You kidding? I could NEVER forget the Hemingway-Pfeiffer Writers Retreat! Always one of the highlights of my year!
      And yes, Stripling made a very nice comment about my book. 🙂

  2. Freeda Nichols

    Roland, I’m so happy to hear about your exciting up-coming events! Sounds like fun.

Leave a Reply

