2010 shaping up

2010 is shaping up to be a busy year…and I’m excited about it. While I’d planned to write something witty about Christmas cards, I think I’ll save that until the next time or two…let Christmas pass on by some. Therefore, I’ll dive right into why I’m excited.

I didn’t get this in early enough to mention my attendance at ShadowCon 14 as a writer guest of honor. Held in Memphis, the city of my birth, it is primarily a science fiction/fantasy convention heavily attended by members of the regional SCA—which stands for Society for Creative Anachronism. Basically, they’re Renaissance era reenactors. Except when they sword fight, they really hit each other! I had a great time and met a bunch of new folks!

In March (12-14), I will be one of the comic/writer guests at MidSouthCon 28, once again in the city of my birth! It’s been about ten years since I was last at MidSouthCon!

The summer is going to be hectic! May 21-30, I’ll attend the second residency for my MFA. June 3-5, I am the Featured Speaker for the Sixty-Sixth Annual Arkansas Writers’ Conference to be held in Little Rock, Arkansas. I just received a copy of the flyer. As soon as I find it online, I’ll post a link to it. I’m excited about this as it is the first time for me to attend a conference as a “featured speaker.” I mean, I’ve been to dozens and dozens of shows as a guest, but never in this capacity. Yes, I’m stoked about it!

I’d like to post that I’ll be somewhere June 6-8, but I haven’t received final confirmation yet, so that’ll have to wait. Trust me, though, it’s very exciting, too! I spoke with them yesterday, so I hope I know by the week’s end.

In July, I’ll be one of the several comic guests at one of Mississippi’s growing comic conventions: Mississippi’s Southern Fried Comic-Con. I heard really great things about 09’s show and I’m really looking forward to it. I’m not 100% certain on the dates, but I have the 10th and 11th penciled in on my calendar. I’ll let you know when I am 100% certain.

November will see the 3rd Annual Hemingway Writer’s Retreat (Fall Retreat, actually, there’s another one in the summer) in which I’ve been the mentor there for about a dozen writers each time. It’s always a great getaway for the writers and they generally produce some pretty amazing writing while they’re there. November is also the month for my third MFA residency and will also signal the half-way point for my degree.

I’m also anticipating finishing up both The Interns, the new novel I’ve started for the MFA program and Cat & Mouse, which already has 25,000 words.

So, I’m pretty excited about the year!

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “2010 shaping up

Leave a Reply

