School and projects

I’m now officially registered for coursework towards a MFA (Master of Fine Arts) in Creative Writing. I’m very excited about it, too…in fact, even a little nervous. The MFA in Creative Writing is 100% geared toward writing creatively. No foreign languages or math classes for me, thank you very much. I’ve been overwhelmed this last week with reading all about registration, the course-work, etc. I’ll be able to do most of it from home, and as most of you know—that’s a huge relief to me. Not sure when my first assignment is due, but I’ll be turning in 25-30 pages of original work!

No real news on the hunt for a publisher for The Gifted. Kimberly, my agent, has gotten some decent feedback, but a couple of them have said it was for a younger audience than what they were looking for. Guess I’ll have to work on “upping” my audience. Cat & Mouse, the novel I’m working on now should definitely have older content. In talking with Kimberly, I guess I’m really shooting for the Twilight age audience…essentially, Brittany’s age. She enjoyed The Gifted, but I do realize she has Daddy-bias. But in my discussions with Kimberly, we talked about a few things I could add to help get that audience. Not sure it will work, but I’m willing to try it.

And that’s really what’s been keeping me busy; my revisions for Cat & Mouse. I’ve just now reached the point where I was “at,” in my writing anyway. The revisions aren’t huge, but they take some reworking to make sure everything works just right. Either way, I’m still right at 25,000 words and that’s pretty exciting.

Another project I’ve spent a little time on is something tentatively called Moonbeam Bobby, a possible comic-style story about a missionary kid on the Moon. His Mom and Dad are missionaries to outgoing colonists and he’s just “stuck” there. I’ll post material here when I get the okay!

I think I said this earlier, but Brittany has been offered a bid in the Mid-South Talent Fair. She’s very excited about that and has really worked on her stage presence this year. She’s got the song down; she should, she’s been doing it all summer. For those of you in the Mid-South area, she will perform October 1, at 7:30 p.m. The competition takes place at the Desoto Civic Center. But don’t bring your video camera or camera—seems they want to charge you $50 for one of their “professionally” produced things.

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “School and projects

  1. Chris

    Hey, I’m looking forward to reading, “The Gifted”… 🙂

Leave a Reply

