College students are back

There’s nothing like life in a small college town when the college students return after the summer. The majority of college students leave in May/June and return to their homes for the summer. Summers in college towns are so nice and peaceful; traffic is relatively light; Wal-mart isn’t crowded, etc.

Actually, that’s just one of the various ways to tell when the college students return…and as much as I’d like to say it’s just Ole Miss students, it’s not, college students nation-wide are generally irresponsible…Wal-Mart was a complete mess my last visit. It wasn’t just “school” supplies either. Every aisle had “dropped” merchandise on it…you know what I’m talking about, the uh-oh, I changed-my-mind-and-now-I-don’t-want-it drop. I saw meat –which is supposed to be in the refrigerated section—with the pop-tarts; I saw pop-tarts with the bagels (someone changed their mind about breakfast); and on and on.

Having worked much of my younger life in retail, I know how incredibly frustrating this can be. And I don’t mean just putting it up, although that is frustrating. I understand people changing their minds—we all do it. But to shove that item onto the first available shelf? That’s not only rude, and inconsiderate…but I would say some of it was like theft. You could almost excuse items that aren’t refrigerated. But to see a milk in with the paper towels? At the very least leave it in the cart and give it to the cashier at the checkout register. I mean, why ruin something just because you’ve changed your mind? This is how I think it is like theft. If you put milk or meat with pop tarts, the meat/milk will ruin. And while it may not be much, it is money that the company loses, Wal-Mart, Kroger, or whoever it is.

In addition to the mess at Wal-Mart, there is the incredible increase in traffic. You gotta think; almost overnight there are 15,000 additional people in the city. Of course, most of them are texting on their cell phones while they drive and that’s why they continue to swerve in traffic almost running me of the road. That’s the other thing that irritating when college is in regular session.

Of course, about the time I get wound up and complaining really good…BJ reminds me that if it weren’t for them, she wouldn’t have a job.

Then I suddenly love college students.

Leave a comment

Filed under General

Leave a Reply

