One week later

It’s been difficult to post to my blog regularly lately. Can’t answer exactly why. Sure the family has been busy, but I’ve still had the time to write here, just haven’t had the energy to do so really. Not sure if that in anticipation of my upcoming school-work, which is about to begin, or what. It won’t do my “hits-per-month” very good, that’s for sure.

Brittany missed a few days of school this week. She was tested for Swine Flu but the test came back negative. The Dr. suggested it was her sinuses again—this happened once before last year. Still, her being tested for Swine Flu was a little tense. She’s got three friends who tested positive for Swine Flu and I think that’s the reason she was tested.

Volleyball is in full swing and Brittany is having a great time. She’s one of the “setters” for the team and that seems to really excite her. BJ and I are still learning about the game. Something will happen and I’ll ask her what the call was…she doesn’t know either. Kinda fun to learn, though. Unfortunately, they were spanked pretty bad by arch-rival Oxford last night.

I’m actually moving sluggishly through the writing project on my plate now as well. I’m still working on Last of the Mohicans GN, and I’m finding it difficult to do. With Huck Finn, I knew the book so well, I moved through the entire process quickly. With Wizard of Oz (no release date from the publisher yet), it was a fun and fast read…and made the scripting easy. LOTM is 430 pages of very heavy text. How in the world do you condense that into a 64 page graphic novel? Don’t get me wrong, I like the book and think there are many visually exciting scenes…but wading through the text to get them is just very, very laborious.

It could be that I’m ready to move on to the project that will follow that. My agent, Kimberly Shumate, is still working hard at placing The Gifted, but we’ve swapped emails and had phone conversation about the “next” thing for me. As soon as I finish LOTM, I plan to get back to Cat & Mouse, the novel of which I’ve already got about 25,000 words written. No, it is not a “novelization” of my comic series—as someone recently thought. Instead, it is a different story inspired by my comic book stories. There will be a few supporting cast members who readers of the comic book will recognize, but beyond that, it’s brand new material. AND, I’m anxious to get back on it.

Lastly, Brittany is competing in the Mid South Fair talent show contest tomorrow. It’ll be in the Desoto County Civic Center Auditorium thing—a place we’ve never been but I understand it is quite BIG! Don’t know what time she goes on, but the competition starts at 2pm. Hope to see some of you there!

1 Comment

Filed under General

One response to “One week later

  1. Dave

    I am certain Brittany will do VERY VERY well! Give her my best.

    Dave

Leave a Reply

