Back to school

If I didn’t keep up with my own writing better, I’d say that I’d just written about the kids going back to school. Alas, however, it’s been almost exactly one year since I penned those words. This time, it has dual meaning. More on that in a minute.

BJ and I now officially have a high school kid. Egads! Brittany started 9th grade last week and Brett started 4th. I did the math in my head (and some of you know how difficult that is for me) and Brittany will be going off to college in FOUR (4) years! She and BJ already have her high school coursework mapped out for her, though.

Today is also the first day of the new Volleyball season. Brittany found out yesterday that she will be the “setter” for the JV team. I’m still learning Volleyball terms and am in no manner that well-versed (not like I am in football/baseball/softball). From what I understand, the setter is the 2nd person to hit the ball and it is her job to “set” it up so the 3rd person to hit it can slam it over. Now when I was a kid playing in the church parking lot, it was called a “spike.” Today it’s called a “kill.” Guess spike wasn’t aggressive enough for the Vball players.

New this year will be no softball. It will be the first time in 8 years that Brittany hasn’t played. She didn’t have much fun last year so BJ and I told her to take a break from it. If she misses enough, she can try out for the team again. Or, she can just play summer league if she doesn’t want to put the practice time required by the high school team—and it is a LOT! Also new, though, the tennis coach has recruited Brittany, learning of her break from softball. Brittany has been out only a few times, but has really enjoyed it. I think if the coach will work with her, she’ll be okay—she’s incredibly athletic.

Brett started back in cub scouts yesterday…only he’s moved up to Webelos. We never did “find” his shirt from last year. He wore it to school, but changed for some PE activity…when he returned for the shirt, it was gone. Now I can’t imagine why someone would want to steal a cub scout shirt…but it happened.

I’ll be starting the first semester of my program at Spalding. I’ve never done a long distance course like this, so I’m not sure what to expect. I’ve kinda watched my old pal Sid Williams do it, and he seemed to really enjoy it. It will take a lot of will power to get the studying done at home, but I’m looking forward to it.

2 Comments

Filed under family

2 responses to “Back to school

  1. John

    Stealing a cub scout uniform? Isn’t that really the extreme OPPOSITE of what the scouts are supposed to stand for? That’s really sad . . . 😦

    I remember I used to wear my cub scout shirt ALL the time “back in the day.” Those were the good old days! 🙂

  2. pat laster

    Just wait until (a long time, I know) your baby goes off for his second year of college. Wonder what your feelings will be then??

Leave a Reply

