Happy Birthday BJ

Today my wife BJ turns…uhm…she has a birthday. So, all of you out there who have her email address (it is mannbjATgmail.com) send her an email greeting…and bombard her facebook with birthday greetings. No, I won’t tell you how old she is, but I will tell you that I was born in 1964 and she was born a year after me. But I absolutely will not tell you how old she is.BJ’s family still calls her Bobbie Jean, but it’s always been BJ for me. I always tease her that I’ve known her longer than she’s known me. She was a grade behind me in school, but I knew who she was when I was in 8th grade. She was one of two girls that started for the junior high football team. She was a starting guard. You’d laugh if you see her now to think of that. She only stands 4’11”. She’ll tell you, though, that back then she was bigger than most of the boys.

We didn’t actually meet until I was in the 11th grade. We had a driver’s ed class together. I already had my driver’s license and was taking the course simply because my parents said I had to – seems they got a break on car insurance if I successfully completed the class. She was the unfortunate one: she was put in a group with my best friend and I and she had never driven before in her life.

I asked her out once that year and she turned me down. Now normally, being the prideful sort of male that many teenage males are, I would never ask a girl out twice. Hey! If she said no the first time, her loss. I was a teenager, whaddaya want?

BJ with daughter Brittany

BJ with daughter Brittany

Nearly two years later, I’d graduated and was working the graveyard shift at the local Stop-N-Rob. I came home early one morning to find a gaggle of girls at my house practicing some kicking routines. Seems my sister Angie had invited the pom squad over to practice. Regardless, I wanted to use the phone and one of the pom-toters was gabbing non-stop on the phone. In my angry “college boy,” voice, I demanded the phone, but asked who she was talking to. She was talking to BJ. I once again demanded the phone – with BJ still on it – and proceeded to ask her out once again. I was, of course, older and wiser at that point.

BJ said yes, and the rest, as they say is history. BJ will tell you that I took far too long to ask her to marry me. It was July of 1983 that we began to date. We weren’t married until 1990. The pressure had been put on me, however. She wanted a “unique” proposal. Ladies, let me suggest to you now: take the proposal however you can get it. Do not, I repeat, do not put undue pressure on your hopeful spouse to be.

Well, I came up with a “unique” way to propose, but some of the situation was out of my hands. Initially, the proposal was to come in 1988…but that fell through. In 1989, I had my very first written published work — I proposed to her in that work. We’ve now been married for 19 years.

Happy Birthday BJ—Love of my life!

2 Comments

Filed under family

2 responses to “Happy Birthday BJ

  1. Clayton

    If you hadn’t taken so long to propose, you’d be married 25 years now……lol
    Make sure you do something special for BJ today…..treat her like a queen!
    love you guys

  2. LOL, Roland Mango … seven years is INDEED too long to make your poor wife (girlfriend) wait. But that’s a great proposal story. Very unique.

    Congratulations on 19 years! That’s an accomplishment. We’re 24 years in another week … still can’t believe how fast that went by.

Leave a Reply

