Writing this-n-that

If you’ve been reading here much, you know that I’m in the middle of revising my novel at the request of an editor for a potential sale. On top of that, I’ve been keeping my fingers busy with this and that, pounding the writer’s pavement, so to speak.

At the top of the list is the long-awaited (by me, anyway) release of my graphic novel adaptation of The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. I was very excited to get to adapt this classic novel as it is one of my personal favorites. In fact, it was one of the books I used in my English Comp classes. Of course, I realize that I’ve just given Comp teachers one more thing they’ve got to go look at before making out their tests. Yes, I used to flip through Cliff Notes while making my tests. I wanted to be sure that the students could not pass the test if they’d only read Cliff Notes. Huck Finn is currently only available online through the publisher. Click to http://campfire.co.in/, select your country, then select “Classics” and you’ll see it listed with several others. Cost is $6.26 and shipping is free. And yes, if you pick one up, I’ll be happy to sign it.

On Saturday, I wrote a guest column for my ACFW pal Tracy Ruckman, who is the Christian Writing Examiner for the Examiner.com. Saturday, of course, was Free Comic Book Day at comic shops all across the U.S. To read it, click here. Look for the Huck cover image. I’ve also written two others for Tracy, one will be released tomorrow, which is Cartoonist Day, and the other will be Saturday, which is the anniversary of the first cartoon ever printed in a U.S. newspaper. Saturday I talked about what a comic book writer does, and the two main styles of comic scripts. Tomorrow I talk about how a comic book is put together, and Saturday I’ll give suggestions to writers interested in comic script writing. If you go, leave a comment so Tracy will be encouraged to have me write more columns for her! J

A few weeks ago I submitted a “funny sports story” to Max Elliot Anderson’s website. By appearances, it seems like my story came in second. I submitted the true account of my old high school pal Scott Cook catching a fly ball in the outfield…after it bounced off his head. Back then, it was the funniest thing we’d ever seen. Realizing now, he probably got a concussion from it.

Back to the grindstone. Thanks for reading.

3 Comments

Filed under writing

3 responses to “Writing this-n-that

  1. Pingback: Daily News About Writing : A few links about Writing - Monday, 04 May 2009 01:26

  2. Keith Jones

    Just because he got a concussion, doesn’t mean it wasn’t funny. For some sick reason, the concussion makes it a bit more funny for me and I don’t even know the story!

  3. paco

    Anxious to see your new adaptation. It seems as if you waited for it to come on the market for a long time.

Leave a Reply

