Happy New Year 2009

Well, 2009 is upon us, and if you’re like me, you’re wondering where 2008 went! We’ve now been in Oxford for exactly one year but we still feel so very unsettled. Part of it, I think, has to do with the fact that we still don’t have a new home church. That’s been pretty hard on the family. We haven’t been without a home church since around 1998—10 years!

The kids seem to be doing well in school and BJ at work, but most of it comes from the fact that I’m stuck in that in-between world. I didn’t get accepted into the grad program last year. The director told me that they accepted only 3 applicants out of 80-something. I’m going to apply again this year, but not just for the one program as I did last year. Instead of putting all my eggs in the MFA program, I’m going to try for the PhD program. We’ll see what happens.

I was very fortunate this last year to have picked up freelance editing work for Campfire Kids (then Elfin) where I edited about a dozen graphic novels—Classics Illustrated style work. I also picked up some freelance editing work from my good pal Jim Chadwick at DC Comics and did some English Translation editing of some Japanese comic titles (Dorothea and Key to the Kingdom, if you’re interested).

On the writing side, I made a lot of progress on novel #3 before getting writing assignments from Campfire. I scripted Graphic Novel adaptations of Huckleberry Finn and The Wonderful Wizard of Oz and am currently discussing my next assignment with the editor there. I made some good contacts at ACFW Conference in September, and now have an editor interested in my novel The Gifted. She’s asked for some revisions, which I’m happy to provide. I’ve said all along that I want an editor/publisher who feels as passionate about the message of The Gifted as I do. I feel pretty good about this one (no, not naming names yet), but time will tell yet.

I spent most of my writing time in November trying to turn Buying Time into a screenplay. One of the groups to which I belong forwarded around a message about a Christian Screenplay competition. The deadline was Dec. 1 and although I busted hump to do it, I couldn’t make the deadline. I’ve decided that I’ll continue to do it for next year’s competition, though. It was difficult work, but fun.

I started/joined a critique group in October which started and then fizzled. We’re going to try again in a week or so—we agreed to wait until the new year and try again.

I’m not big into resolutions; very rarely make them. But this year, I’m going to resolve to stop drinking Coke. Brittany’s softball coach has told the girls they can’t drink Cokes. I remember my football coach in high school telling all us the same thing. I think this will help support her AND help me lose weight. I did well walking on the treadmill in November and December, but I didn’t see any real weight loss. That was frustrating. So, I’m thinking if I give up the Cokes and continue the treadmill, that’ll help.

That’s the plan anyway.

I have a feeling 2009 will fly by just as quickly!

Leave a comment

Filed under Projects

Leave a Reply

