Has it really been a year?

Yesterday was December 7: Pearl Harbor Day! Yes, it has been exactly one year since I first started blogging. Wow…And didn’t I just write something about time flying? December 8 of last year was the first regular entry for my blog. I blogged sporadically and with no rhyme or reason that month, posting a total of 7 times with 366 visits. But in January, I started trying to get a regular schedule and posted 10 times with 580 visits.

In February I posted 10 times with 739 visits. February 28 remains my highest single day with 104 visits on that day. To this day, I still don’t understand exactly why? The subject for the day was my trials with fast food restaurants!

March saw a decline back to 539 visits, and I kinda expected that’s where it’d settle in for a while. I played with Mon/Thurs/Sat postings a few weeks, but was finding that the Saturday postings were very low. I guess no one reads much internet on the weekends. However, April jumped up to 810 visits when I settled in with the M/W/F schedule. May declined to 766, and June jumped back up to 878.

July (915) and August (914) were almost exactly alike, but September put me over the 1,000 mark with 1071. October went back down to 787, but November jumped up to 1008, sparked by my column about the Gays in California. That post holds the distinction of the one with the most views overall; 137. While it wasn’t intentional—I was just writing what I wanted to write—it proved something I’d heard at a conference recently. The speaker, talking about how to increase traffic to your blog, said if you really want to increase traffic, write about something controversial. Guess he was right.

To date, I’ve had a total of 9,629 views…so, almost 10,000 in the year that I’ve been blogging. I’m sure that doesn’t break any blog records, but I’m pretty pleased considering I really just started this to see what blogging was all about.

Sometimes it is a struggle to think of something to write about. Other days, I write two or three at a time. Yes, I can “save” them and then schedule them for later. I like that because if I’m going to be away, I can still write something and keep my schedule. And folks who’ve worked with me over the years know that I’m a bit of a schedule keeper.

If you’ve read this far down, I’m certainly open to suggestions about what you’d like to read. I’ve had a few requests to write more about writing, and I’m definitely trying to think in that direction as well. Someone said they wanted to see more of the old Silverline video footage! Ha. I think they just wanted to laugh at my long hair then.

Anyway, thanks to all of you who have subscribed (I’m using those numbers in support of trying to sell my novel!) and thanks to all of you who haven’t subscribed, but still pop by and read. It is much appreciated.

6 Comments

Filed under General

6 responses to “Has it really been a year?

  1. BJ

    Love the snow. Cool! At first I thought something was happening to my computer:-)

  2. Actually, I was afraid it was my EYES!!! 🙂

  3. Sid

    I’m amazed at how fast the past year has gone by.

  4. What I would like to know is how you get that snow falling on your head and then down the whole page. Cute.

    God Bless

  5. See we were so distracted by the snow we can’t remember a thing you wrote. LOL.

    Jest teasin’

  6. I wish I could take credit for the snow…however, it’s a WordPress thing and not me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

