How time flies

Not long ago, I had a telephone conversation with Lou Bank, an old friend from back in my comic book heyday. Lou is a marketing guru and was in charge at Marvel during its heyday in the early 90s (another friend once said that Lou could sell refrigerators to Eskimos!). Lou and I caught up on a lot of personal and business things throughout the conversation, including the very cool fact that he is a promoter for Andrew Vachss, an author whose work I enjoy (though admittedly, I haven’t read anything of his in quite some time). That, and he was silly enough to ride a bicycle from down around New Orleans all the way up to Memphis…in the delta…in JUNE! Love’im…but he’s still a silly Yankee!

Reflecting back on the conversation, the realization hit me: it’d been at least ten years since I’ve seen Lou. Heck, it’s been more than ten years since Marvel Marvelcuted the whole Malibu division. That was in 1996. I began my work with Malibu/Marvel in 1992…that was 16 years ago. I’ve been married 18 years! E-gads!

I graduated from high school (uh-oh—age alert!) in 1983. I recently heard parents at my kids’ school talking the other day that their kids had an “80s day.” My first question—as should any sane person’s be—was WHY? 80s music was bad the first time around (though not as bad as disco). I think it’s good the 80s are in the past! Then it hit me: we used to have 50s day when I was in high school.

AIIIEEE. I’ve become my parents!

As absurd as it sounds, there’s truth to it. Many of my friends no longer have parents. They deserted them years ago. J No, I don’t mean to make light of it, but several of my friends are the “old” generation now…and that number is growing yearly. A few of my friends have already married off their own kids. I’ve yet to tell my kids that I walked to school everyday uphill in the snow…both ways, but I have told them things my parents told me:

Because “I” said so. I never liked it when my parents used it and I’d bet my kids don’t like it when I do. In truth, I try to give them legitimate and valid reasons, but sometimes “I said so” is all the reason I want to give!

Just wait until you have kids of your own. I can’t count the number of times I heard this one. ‘Nuff said.

Your face will get stuck that way.

Okay, so I haven’t told my kids that one yet…but I still find it funny.

Mom said recently that her birthdays quit bothering her…several of them back (Happy Birthday yesterday, Angie!). She said it was Angie’s birthdays and mine that really bother her now.

My how time flies.

4 Comments

Filed under Columns, family

4 responses to “How time flies

  1. paco

    Hey, what is wrong with riding a motorcycle in June. I had “lots” of fun and the 50’s music was GREAT.. and yes it was uphill and two miles to school in the old days.
    Not your “old man” but your “young father”.

  2. Rest Easy , Roland. You’re still a young whippersnapper. Wait until your favorite movies start running on the ‘classics’ channels. Classic? Didn’t they just make that movie last …um…never mind.

  3. Dave Olbrich

    Yep. My daughter was seven years old when you, me and the rest of the Malibu gang launched the Ultraverse. This past spring, she graduated from Cal. State Northridge and now she’s a professional in the entertainment business, working at a management company for actors.

    But she still doesn’t mind hanging out … which I think is great. In a couple of weeks, she and I are going to a TV taping of GARY, UNMARRIED because her company manages one of the actors that has a guest role.

    Say “hi” to Lou the next time you talk to him.

    p.s. where is the link you promised me for FUNNY BOOK FANATIC?

Leave a Reply

