Left or right: real politics

This is a followup to an earlier post: Shoe Politics: Left or Right.

 

I don’t dive into politics too much, but with elections coming up, this just felt like the thing to do. That’s not to say that I don’t have an opinion, I definitely do!; but I’ve found that folks who dwell on politics too much can get really worked up — ­their blood pressure will rise and then stay there. And then they walk around angry all the time. I’m not the kind who likes to be angry so much.

 

I’ve said it before, but it’s worth repeating…I’m not really a party guy. I vote for the person, not the party. I do tend to vote for Republicans because I just can’t bring myself to vote for a party that openly supports homosexuals, abortion and other assorted issues that go against my moral beliefs.

 

Now, before all you yella-dogs out there start hollering at me, ­pay attention to what I said. I’m not a Republican. Heck, I didn’t vote for George Bush in 2000 (nope, didn’t vote for Al, either), and there is certainly a difference between Democrats at the national level and Democrats at the local level in the South. State Democrats in the old Confederacy can often be more conservative than Republicans in the north.

 

What most yellow-dogs don’t realize (they probably weren’t paying attention during their history classes) is that the parties actually flip-flopped back in the 1950s.

 

The problem with our political system is that the common man doesn’t really have a candidate he can get behind. Oh sure, some people vote for Bush or McCain because they love him and some vote for Kerry or Obama (or Gore, or Clinton) because they love him.

 

Some.

 

However, ­and you know this is true, ­most common folks vote AGAINST a candidate. We don’t so much as vote for someone we like as we vote against someone we dislike.

 

In general, that’s been the case for me. It’s not that I think McCain is the savior of the universe (that title belongs to Flash Gordon, btw), but I shudder at the thought of his opponent being in office.

 

The common man doesn’t have a candidate to stand behind because the parties are too similar anymore. When you take the labels off and examine voting records, you find that it is hard to distinguish between Dem and Repub except on moral issues. I remember examining the financial contributors during the 2000 election and the same big companies gave nearly the same amounts to both parties. What’s that about? (I’ll tell you what that’s about — ­they’re hedging their bets!)

 

Part of the problem is that both parties are now run by lifelong politicians. Our country was founded on the idea of citizens being in charge, ­y’know, “we the people.” We were supposed to be the ones in charge of government, we had a citizen army, etc. These lifelong politicians don’t know the first thing about the average American citizen as many of them haven’t had to work an honest day’s work in their lives. I’d almost be inclined to say that if you’ve ever been a lawyer or if you’ve got a “politician’s degree,” then you’re ineligible for national political offices. I mean, give us the Daniel Boones again!

2 Comments

Filed under Columns

2 responses to “Left or right: real politics

  1. Agree with your ‘politics’ 100%. Sometimes, I consider NOT voting because I’m not FOR anybody – but then, what’s the use? I also consider voting for the ‘green’ party, or Ralph Nader, because it’s a more definite way of sending the message that I don’t wish to vote for the major candidates that are offered. If I don’ t vote, nobody but me knows that it was a protest, and not simply being too lazy to go to the polls.

    Anyway, BEFORE ANYBODY VOTES DEM. THIS YEAR, THEY NEED TO READ OBAMA’s BOOKS! I wish there was a better way to emphasize this! The problem with Rep. is simply do I want that girl as my V.P.? Really???

  2. Pingback: April 15: Time for a Tea Party! « Roland Mann’s Ramblin’ Weblog

Leave a Reply

