My 100th Blog post

Yes, this is really and truly my Blog Post #100. And yes, it’s hard for me to believe that I’ve written so many already. I’m not sure how many it takes to be considered a “blogger,” or how many it takes to not be new anymore. After all, I haven’t even been doing this a year yet.

My first post came on Nov. 16 of last year (2007) and then my second didn’t come until a few weeks into December –actually, after The Best Christmas Pageant Ever play in which Brittany had the lead role and I wanted to talk about it. Since then, I’ve posted pretty regular. I toyed with dates and frequency early on, trying to find a good schedule and pace for me while trying not to overload anyone who might be interested in reading.

Someone recently asked me (hey Dave!) what the “purpose” of my blog is…and I really didn’t have a good answer. That’s not to say that I haven’t considered it, I have…I just don’t have a clear picture yet. I’ve looked around at blogs by other writers, trying to sorta feel it out. The writer part of me says it’s to keep my writing muscles actively moving, FORCE myself to write something. The marketer part of me says it’s to promote my work, increase visibility, etc. etc. Many agent and editorial blogs say writers need a “platform.” Think I’m still looking for that. The family/friend guy part of me says the blog is to keep family and friends posted on the family’s doings.

I think it must be some combination of it all, and I imagine it will change and morph the longer I do it.

Since this is the 100th, I think I need to talk about some of the stats. I talked about them in May, but—as I said then—I like looking at the numbers and trying to GUESS (because that’s all I can do) at what they might mean. In Jan, I had 580 visits; Feb., 739; March, 539; April, 810; May, 766; June, 878; July, 915; Aug(to date), 780. A grand total since I began is 6,374, with an average of about 25 per day, but for the last 3 months is 30 per day. My single best day is still Feb. 28 with 104 visits. I still don’t know why.

I do know that Sunday is typically the lowest day for visitors, but there is no “high” day.

It probably comes as no surprise that the “Who’s Ramblin'” and “Bibliography” pages are the top two visit-getters. I think what happens is people find their way to my blog somehow, read the blog they’ve found, then view those pages to see who I am and what I’ve done…and don’t necessarily view any of the other blog-posts. But that’s just a guess.

Not all of my blogs get comments, but the blog with the most comments was on April 28, with 8 comments. 4.28 also happens to be my anniversary.

If I continue to do 3 per week every week, I’ll end up with 156 in a year.

If you have any thoughts on things you’d like to see me ramble more about…let me know. Otherwise, I’ll just continue to ramble on.

OH! Thanks for reading!

2 Comments

Filed under General, writing

2 responses to “My 100th Blog post

  1. Hmmm~~ How about a once a week post on your personal writing journey?

  2. Dave

    Roland: Thanks for the shout out! I am blessed. I think Sharon has a good idea in general – but committing to a once a week schedule is the antithesis of ramblin. I do think that fellow writers would enjoy joining you on your sojourn.

    Dave

Leave a Reply

