Earth-Quakin’

I got a call early yesterday afternoon from Mom telling me about the 5.8 magnitude earthquake that struck Los Angeles, California yesterday. Mom, knowing that we don’t have cable or satellite here, assumed (correctly) that we hadn’t heard the news, AND my sister, Angie is out there. Angie works for Epi-Use as an SAP consultant and currently flies back and forth to LA each week to work. While I haven’t been there, I understand she’s located smack-dab (that’s Southern talk for “exactly”) in the middle of LA…and I don’t mean Lower Alabama.

Thanks to the internet, I googled and quickly spotted a brief news report: Widely felt, about 29 miles e-se of downtown LA, no immediate reports of damage or injury.

Angie’s fine. In fact, while Mom was talking to me on the phone, she was “google-chatting” with Angie. That explained why her conversation was a bit disjointed—hard to carry on two conversations at the same time, though that didn’t stop Mom from trying. J

I swapped some emails with Ang soon after that. She’s several floors up (the 11th) and I couldn’t resist asking her if it felt more like shaking or swaying. She didn’t hesitate to say it felt like shaking…but the building is on “earthquake rollers.” So, my sister was rocking and rolling yesterday morning.

But boy, that sure brings back memories of the January 17, 1994, 6.6 (or 6.8, depending on which tee-shirt you bought) magnitude Northridge earthquake. BJ and hadn’t been in Calif. very long. I had a good/fun job working with a good group of people at Malibu Comics, Entertainment. On Sunday night, (the night before) we’d been out to a comedy show (our first and last!) and didn’t get in until pretty late. The Northridge quake struck at 4:30 a.m. We were sound asleep.

There have only been two times in my life when I actually thought I was about to die. Once, I put my car in a 20 foot ditch, not far from a big concrete culvert…the other time was the earthquake. I know it sounds cliché, but BJ and I literally grabbed on to each other and good-bye.

I had a lot of non-Californians ask me later if I knew what it was.

Oh yeah. There’s no mistaking it. It wasn’t a case of “well, that could be an earthquake.” No, I don’t know how to explain it, but we knew exactly what it was. I won’t go into all the destruction that came as a result—you’ve seen most of it on television anyway. It is difficult to believe that it was 14 years ago. I guarantee you, it’s much closer in my memory than that!

Later, I got an email from Ang telling me she was glad it was her that was out there and not me. Said she’d been wanting to feel one. Haha. Careful what you wish for, I think.

2 Comments

Filed under family

2 responses to “Earth-Quakin’

  1. drunkdreamer8

    Hello,
    intresting blog, just wanted to invite you over to my new home, if you needed some encouragement today at http://www.drunkdreamer8.com
    hope to see you there
    C.Apana

  2. paco

    There’s nothing like the sound of a loved one’s voice when you have been waiting hours to hear whether they are dead or alive. Even though I found out immediately that Angie was okay, it is still a scary feeling to have someone in such a situation. I’ll never forget the sound of your voice after the Northridge one and getting to talk to Angie after this one.

Leave a Reply

