The road to Hell

They say the road to Hell is paved with good intentions. Of course, I’m not real sure who “they” is, but after this past weekend’s hour upon hour of removing wall paper from the children’s bathroom in our newly purchased home, I’d offer up that the path to Hell is actually paved with layer upon layer of wallpaper. Y’see, Satan has decided that real “hell” is putting people in a tiny space, with several obstacles, and then having them spend hour upon hour removing tiny little strands of paper from the wall. Only to have another layer miraculously appear when the first one is done.

Seriously, though, I’m not sure why folks think papering over a layer of wallpaper is a good idea, unless the goal is to torment the folks who come after.

The update on the house is that the siding is about 2/3rds replaced, the shingles to the roof have been delivered, but still sit in the yard, all three bedrooms have been painted, and-wallpaper has been removed from the bathroom and is now awaiting spackling and paint. There is wallpaper in the kitchen, but I’m hoping it’s much friendlier than the bathroom.

No only friendlier, but kinder. My back is killing me. I’m not sure where the pain originates-I wasn’t really lifting anything heavy. Granted, I was stretching to the top of the wall a lot and I guess that’s what caused it…but the muscles in my back don’t like wallpaper either…they’ve threatened to go on strike.

No, we haven’t moved in yet. We want to try to get the bedrooms, living room and kitchen finished before we move in. We’re not anxious to try to navigate furniture and boxes while trying to do all we want to do to move in. Still not sure exactly when that will be, but we’re hoping sooner rather than later.

There were about a dozen fireant beds scattered throughout the yard, but after putting poison on them, they’ve been knocked down considerably. I’m really surprised the poison worked. I didn’t have much luck with poison the last time I had fireant problems.

The grass is already needing a cut again. Looks like I’m going to have to make another whirlwind trip to Arkansas to get my mower and equipment. Hope that’s not the way we make the rest of this move-a pickup truck load at a time could take a while to get it all.

I’m gearing up to do some traveling for Elfin Kids-will be the first flying I’ve done since before Y2K. I’ll keep you posted on that.

4 Comments

Filed under Moving

4 responses to “The road to Hell

  1. BJ

    My question is…Why wallpaper? Especially when an individual (s) know they have absolutely no idea how to put it up properly. In both the kitchen and kid’s bathroom…it was pieced together “badly”. Plus…wallpaper becomes out-dated so quickly. Like you…what were they thinking?

  2. Peggy Johnson

    Concerning wallpaper. It used to be a great fad. Everyone did it. When I moved into this depression era house, there was a wallpaper border at the top of the very high ceiling in a bathroom. I spent about a week removing that one old outdated flowery border. I would give up, then go back and try again. I tried all the tricks, but they only partially worked. The wallpaper didn’t give up easily, but it eventually did. I would hate to have to do an entire room. I painted that bathroom a pale yellow with no border. No, my son painted it. I wish you happiness in your new home.

  3. Clayton

    AWWWWWWWWW, we were coming to visit next weekend!! too bad there is NO room at the inn! ha ha ha ha ha ha Wallpaper is SO overrated! paint is the only way to go………Best wishes on the house remodel. Don’t stain anything!

  4. Clayton

    oops, last comment, I meant “don’t STRAIN anything”

Leave a Reply

