Talking ’bout my stats

I’m a stat guy. I love looking at the numbers. Granted, I’ve confessed here many times that I’m not good in math–and I’m not. I believe that’s why God created calculators! But I enjoy looking at and sometimes studying the numbers to various things.

For instance, while I was coaching Brittany in softball, I kept all sorts of stats. I can tell you how many batters she faced, how many of them she walked, struck out–even how many she hit! I can compare her with the other pitchers on her team. I even set up an Excel spreadsheet to keep all those numbers and then kept rank orders of such things as: Best strike-out percentage, Fewest walks allowed, etc. I have fun playing with those numbers.

My blog here at WordPress allows me to view stats regarding it. And, like those other numbers, I really enjoy watching and studying them. Obviously, as a writer, I want to be able to reach the biggest audience possible so I try to see if there are reasons for “low” days or “high” days–Spread the word, btw–help me get more readers! 🙂

But, let me give you some of the numbers–I can get them by the day, by the week or by the month. Monthly is easiest, so I’ll start there.

I started my blog in the waning hours of November… In December, I had 366 visits/views; in January, 580; in February, 739; in March, 539; in April, 810. The good news, imo, is that the stats are going up. The question arises–what happened in March.

So, what I do is go back and look at the postings–the dates and such. Does it make any sense? Who knows? The neat thing is that I can say that I’ve had more than 500 visits per month for all of 2008.

To look at the stats weekly is just to confuse the mess out of me. We’re talking a huge difference–ranging from 92 the week of April 7, to 237 the week of April 21. What’s the difference? In looking back, I see that I only posted twice the week of 4/7, and posted three times the week of 4/21.

To look at the stats daily is just to make my mind spin! I’ll skip that. However, and for what it’s worth, my single best day thus far is Feb. 28 with 104 visits. I have no idea what was special about Feb. 28.

However, some other cool things my stat page shows (and before you start thinking, no, I can’t tell WHO looks) are my top posts and the top referrers. The referrers basically tells WHERE the incoming viewer is coming from. For instance, I can see when someone comes from “google” (meaning they googled my name and then found the site), or even when they come from an email message–it says simply “yahoo-email.” Which tells me that the viewer is most likely one of my email subscribers (or, the email has been forwarded to someone).

Top posts are the particular post from a certain date. For instance, I’m writing this on 5/14. The top pages today are “AGING” (today’s post) with 13 views, “FAMILY REUNION REVISITED” with 4, the others that follow have 1.

Yesterday’s top posts were “Family reunion revisited” with 15, “Kissing cousins at the family reunion” with 5, “New Project” with 2, “The Gospel according to Superman” with 2. The others had one.

What does it all mean? I dunno. But I sure have fun studying it just to see if I can figure out any patterns. Plus, all I know is that since I’ve started writing this blog right after Thanksgiving, I’ve had 3,187 visits or views.

That’s cool!

2 Comments

Filed under General

2 responses to “Talking ’bout my stats

  1. Roland,

    You old dog! I found you through the creator of Beta 3’s website – John Metych, III!

    You Indy’s are still out there causing trouble, I see! 😉

    Send me an e-mail and talk to me. I am writing and just seeing what the Lord has for me!

    peace
    justice

    (Brian is a good name. But MAN does Justice – my middle – get air time!)

  2. Pingback: My 100th Blog post « Roland Mann’s Ramblin’ Weblog

Leave a Reply

