Another one of those few days

Well, it’s been another one of those last few days.

BJ had gone out of town for business on Thursday (yes, Valentine’s Day…but think again if you think that fact got me out of my husbandly duties for the day. Tulips were the order of the day, thank you). I talked with her once they arrived Thursday around lunch and then later that night…and then the kids talked to her that night.

Friday I talked to her after lunch. We’ve been having “eligibility” questions regarding Brittany on the softball team because we are temporarily living on the campus of Ole Miss (there’s another story for you one day!), and I was updating BJ on what all had gone on regarding the whole discussion with the athletic director and such. I really had to give her the abbreviated version because she was in a hurry to get to the next interview.

Not twenty minutes later I got a call from someone who was there with her. BJ had fallen down a flight of stairs (about 9 in all). She never lost consciousness, but they were afraid to move her for fear of serious injury. They were also very afraid she had broken her leg. She was taken to the hospital and luckily nothing was broken.

She didn’t tumble down the stairs, but went face-first in a kind of nose dive, else she just might have broken a few bones and maybe even whacked her head pretty good. A couple of co-workers brought her home that night and she’s been laid-up ever since.

Her legs are pretty badily bruised and so is one of her wrists. She is in pretty high pain still, but seems to be doing better. She’ll have to be in bed for several days.

Meanwhile, y’all keep Brittany in mind on Tuesday as the Lady Commodores of Lafayette County will have their first game! Anyone reading this who feels like making the drive, come on! Game time is 5 p.m.

5 Comments

Filed under family

5 responses to “Another one of those few days

  1. ant'ny

    I’m sorry to read that. You’re all in my thoughts and prayers.

  2. Peggy Johnson

    So sorry about BJ. She’s had a run of bad luck lately, hasn’t she? Her situation isn’t funny but I remember when I was at my kitchen door going inside from outside, when I fell inside onto my kitchen floor. My son was sitting at the table, eating. He looked up and asked, “Are you hurt, Ma.?” He didn’t bother to help me up. No, I wasn’t hurt, just embarrassed.

  3. Deanna

    Roland, give my best wishes and prayers for a quick recovery to BJ Deanna

    and Good Luck to Brittany.

  4. Doug Stewart

    Are they still flying the battleflag at Ole Miss?

    BTW, on this day (2/18) in 1861, Jefferson Davis was inaugurated as Provisional President of the Confederate States of America.

  5. Hey Dad!!!!! I love you. In quest again. The softball game changed and the jv aren’t playing, but the varsity is. And they play at 4. See ya later!
    Love,
    Brittany♥

Leave a Reply

