The long and winding…week?

What a week!

Last Monday (Feb 4) Brittany was racing Brett from the van to the back door of our apartment. We’re not sure exactly what happened, but she says she felt a pull under her knee and she went down hard. For the next few days, she was really hurting. We managed to get her to the doctor (the first “offered” appointment was March something. To which I responded, “she’s hurtin’ now!”) on Thursday and the good news was that no bones or ligaments are broken. He suggested that she probably bruised the pad between her two bones (meniscus?) and that it was probably okay, just needed time to heal. So she’s been icing it down over the weekend and plans to try running out on the softball field today.

Brittany was really worried because she did not want to miss this softball season, or even the first game (which is Feb. 19 at Lafayette County High School softball field–if you’re reading this, you’re welcome to come watch and cheer on the Lady Commodores). She was relieved when the doctor said he didn’t think that was the case.

We really like Brittany’s coach. Not only does she know what she’s doing, but she’s a very Godly woman–that is such a relief to us. She explained to the parents that she tells the girls that their lives should be like softball: God is first base, family is second base, school is third base and softball is home plate. She leads the girls in devotionals on a regular basis and even requires some of the girls (older? not sure how she’s picked them) to lead smaller group devotionals. Needless to say,BJ and I really like her…and so does Brittany.

Last week was a busy week for me as I was finishing up the script for a comic adaptation of Adventures of Huckleberry Finn. I didn’t think I was supposed to talk about it, but I spotted on the editor’s site that he’d mentioned it as I have done here. I won’t mention the publisher or any details until the company is ready, but I’m pretty excited about it. I used Huck in my ENG 101 classes so it was neat to try to find a way to get all the finer points into a comic–not an easy thing. All told, I spent three weeks (150+ hours) on it. It was fun. I’ve already put in my request for a phase two title–ain’t gonna tell you which one, but it has to do with one of my favorite subjects: The War of Northern Aggression! When Huck comes out, I’ll expect all of you to get a copy…and then donate it to your local library!If’n yer nice, we’ll try to figure out some way for me to come visit and maybe even do an autograph session!

Other work keeping me busy is the freelance editing I’ve been doing for DC Comics since late last year. It’s been pretty interesting work.

All of my paperwork is now into the graduate school. I had to submit three samples. While I was very tempted to  submit some issues of Cat & Mouse (any suggestions?), comics don’t often fly in literary circles. I was delighted to hear that the current writer-in-residence here cites comics as one of his influences. Instead, I submitted my short stories War Correspondent, Grandma’s Gun, and Broken Down Truck. I’ll be sure and post any updates here!

1 Comment

Filed under General, Kids, Projects

One response to “The long and winding…week?

  1. peggyjohnson

    Does your Huck have any resemblance to Arkansas’s Huck a bee? I’d like to read your Broken Down Truck.
    Did you ever hear of That Bookstore in Blytheville. The owner has many book signings there. Hillary Clinton did a book signing there and so did John Grisham. Lesser known authors also have book signings there too. Keep that in mind.

Leave a Reply

