Why so much moving?

It seems sometimes that I talk so much about moving. When I stop to think about it, though, I guess it’s because we’ve moved so much the last few years. I read (or heard) somewhere once that the average American family now moves about every seven years. I think my family ends up on the short end of that average.

BJ and I married in 1990 and we moved to Petal, MS., to make our home. I really liked it there–we were way out in the country, but it only took us 15 to 20 minutes to get into Hattiesburg. I could do my writing (and was fortunate enough to be selling several pieces) in a nice quiet setting. In just over a year, however, BJ decided to go on to grad school and so we moved up to Starkville, MS., in 1991.

In 1992, because of many of the contacts I’d made writing, I was offered the job in California with Malibu and so moved out there a few months ahead of BJ -she was finishing up her Master’s degree.

We were in California until 1996. Even though that looks like 4 years, we actually lived in three different places there; three and a half if you count the few months we stayed with a good friend (thanks, Tom!) right after the Northridge earthquake (January, 1994).

We moved back to Starkville, MS., in August of ’96 when BJ decided again to enroll in grad school (Ph.D). We lived in two different locations there. We were in Starkville for that second tour of duty until 1998, when BJ took a job at the University of North Alabama in Florence, AL. I decided to try the grad school thing out and got my degree at UNA.

We had another move in 2005, but I don’t classify it as a full-blown move. It was a city-to-country kind of move. We were able to keep the same doctors and I was at the same job, but the kids changed schools and we had to find a church that was a little closer than the old one which was now 50+ minutes away–depending on traffic.

In 2006 we moved to Piggott, AR., when I was offered the editor position at the weekly newspaper. Actually, we lived in two locations there. Then, just last month, 2008, we moved to Oxford, MS.

As a kid, I can remember moving very little. I remember being in Memphis as a kindergartener, Horn Lake in second grade, and then Jackson, MS. from there on. Mom and Dad moved to Jackson in 1976…and didn’t move away until 1997, when Dad retired.

Since I got married in 1990 (almost 18 years for those of you keeping score), our stays look something like: (where the .x represents the number of months) 1.3, 1.4, 3.9, 2, 6.4, 1.9, 1.3, .1+

No wonder I talk about moving all the time.

3 Comments

Filed under Columns, General, Moving

3 responses to “Why so much moving?

  1. Lee

    again, I feel your pain….19 times in 19 yrs.

  2. BJ

    Yes, I feel your pain as well! However, God has taken care of us every step of the way. As long as we are together as a family…that’s all that matters. But they sure are good stories to tell. So you keep telling them sweetie.

  3. Peggy Johnson

    I can identify with the moving bit. I had my share while married to a career military man.

Leave a Reply

