Cold, cold, cold

Man, it’s been cold the last few days. As one of the few in my family that actually likes cold weather, let me just add…it was cold. My good friend Ashley Koostra used to say…uhm…something to the effect of “it’s cold as a well-diggers nether regions.” Ashley has always had a way of inserting humor into just about any situation.

It was so cold and icy here on Friday, that several people slipped not on the icy roads, but on the wood mulch in between the roads. Seems the mulch can be pretty slippery. BJ was one of those who slipped–and then she spent most of the weekend laid up with a heating pad. Her leg was swollen, her hip and ribs were sore–as was her wrist. I didn’t see the fall, but I saw her hobble around all weekend. And yes, she’s headed to the doc this morning.

Friday morning, when I took the kids to school, we were all bundled up. We had to wait for the van to de-ice. As we drove through campus, I noticed–as did the kids–several students in either light jackets, t-shirts, or what-not. Some girls even had on short pants and sweat shirts. We’re talking the weather was hovering around 20 degrees.

Now, I remember wanting to be that “cool” when I was in college, too. Man, I’d never wear a hood…I didn’t even own a coat, jacket, or sweatshirt that had one. Wait–not true–I had a raincoat that had one. Anyone who knows me knows that I’m just not a “hood” person. It just wasn’t cool to wear one and I wasn’t about to be seen with one on my head.

My how time…is it age?…changes us.

In the van, both kids had on heavy coats and I had on a heavy coat with the hood–yes, hood–pulled over my head. But in 20 degree weather, that hood felt pretty good. I hadn’t realized what I’d been missing by not wearing a hood.

It would be neat to get a good snow here. There are two really good “sleddin'” hills nearby, just perfect for me–I mean–for the kids to grab a big hunk of cardboard and have some fun till it melts. When I was a kid, we used to have “Stuart’s hill,” but it had far too many mailboxes. That didn’t stop us from skateboarding down it, though.

I do still like the cold weather, but I also like bundling up a little more than I once did. I can’t tolerate the cold on my ears as much. Of course, I did used to have longer hair to help keep them warm.

I’m just glad I didn’t have to work outside in that kind of weather.

5 Comments

Filed under General

5 responses to “Cold, cold, cold

  1. Doug Stewart

    You’re not supposed to have weather that cold where you are. Don’t let the Democrats or Al find out, or they’ll find some wierd way to blame it on global warming!!

  2. Doug Stewart

    BTW, Roland, two great books about Lincoln by Dr. Thomas DiLorenzo are, “The Real Lincoln” and “Lincoln Unmasked” . . . incredible information that was intentionally left out of my government-school education.

  3. Angie

    You could come visit me in Sunny California…It is warmer here.

  4. Gwen Rieves Rodery

    Roland,
    You don’t know cold, till your power goes because the wind is 60 mph and it’s 8 degrees. That is what happened to us this morning. The power went off at 2A.M. and didn’t come on until 2:44P.M. By that time the temp was 52 in the house. And the unusal thing was it was 47 degrees last night at 10:30p.m. That’s Michigan for you.

  5. My folks used to make we wear either a cap or a hood when I was a kid and I hated it. Yeah, time marches on.

Leave a Reply

